Endler Is Nigh?

Author Topic: Endler is nigh?  (Read 3148 times) 11 replies

Offline Nearly

• Fishy Contributor
  • Tropical Fish Keeper
Endler is nigh?
« on: May 01, 2021, 10:29:31 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
I’d appreciate an opinion on this please, as I can’t work out what’s happening myself.

I think one of my Endlers isn’t long for this tank.  For the last five hours he’s been furiously swimming in the same stationary spot at the surface, mouth constantly open, but not gasping.  It’s really quite heart breaking.

Backstory:
I’m new to this and have been trying to learn as I go along, so am probably making mistakes all over the place.  We bought an aquarium as an alternative to a hamster/puppy/cat/guinea pig at the behest of a medium to small person.  With hindsight, I’d have made some different decisions about what we’ve done if I’d had more time to research more thoroughly.

Anyway, we bought a 37L tank (40cm x 25cm x 40cm) at the beginning of March.  Having done some research I attempted a fishless cycle, dosing 2ppm of ammonia and dumping two bottles of Tetra Safestart in the first couple of weeks (I figured more bacteria couldn’t hurt)..What I didn’t realise was that having planted the tank quite heavily initially I’d retarded the process.  Eventually we got to the point where a dosed 2ppm of ammonia disappeared after 24 hours, although nitrite never went higher than 0.5ppm.  So I’m not sure if the ammonia is being mostly consumed by the plants (which are growing well)or whether the Safestart nitrite eating bacteria got a head start on their ammonia eating cousins.

Generally the water parameters are (measured using either API liquid test kit or API strips):
PH 8ish - variance between 7.5 and 8.2, but some of that could be down to my colour interpretation.
GH 180ppm
KH 180ppm
Nitrate out of the tap is around 15-20 ppm. (Is there actually a difference between the API liquid kit’s colours of orange for this test?)