Author Topic: Death of 4 Black Phantom Tetras  (Read 6062 times) 11 replies

Offline davebayfield

• Super Subscriber!
  • Tropical Fish Keeper
Death of 4 Black Phantom Tetras
« on: July 28, 2020, 06:05:15 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi Guys,
I hope I'm posting this in the right place. I'm fairly new to tropical fishkeeping (started in May this year) and thought I was doing pretty well, until Monday.
I've got a 90L tank, reasonably well planted which had 6 Black Phanton Tetras, 4 Leopard danios and 7 Rili shrimp. I wanted to change some of the decor and take out a largish rock that my friend gave me with the tank and replace it with some bogwood I bought. I did this on Sunday when I was carrying out my weekly water change, mainly so it would be easier to move stuff about with less water in the tank.
I did all that and everything seem fine, until Monday morning when I noticed that 3 of the black phantom tetras had died. I checked the water conditions and the nitrate/nitrite/ammonia levels were OK but a carried out a ~25% water change as another of tetras wasn't looking to well but that didn't improve things and the tetra died within an hour or so.
All the other fish and shrimp are fine and don't look ill at all, but I'm struggling to work out why this might have happened and can only think of two possible causes:
I had glued some Java moss to the bogwood and I recall reading somewhere that when glue cures underwater it can use up some of the oxygen in the water, however the bogwood was left for 3-4 hours for the glue to set and then soaked overnight before putting it in the tank so it should've had time to cure?
or
For some reason these four fish have found me moving the scenery around to stressful and that's been too much for them?
Sorry for the length of the post, I just wanted to make sure I'd covered everything I did so I can get as much advice as possible to avoid this happening again.  :)

A Selection of Fish in my Fish Community Creator Tanks