Hi Everyone

Author Topic: Hi everyone  (Read 6415 times) 22 replies

Offline Mooster2705

• Fishy Contributor
Hi everyone
« on: February 18, 2024, 04:45:31 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hello.
Newbie here looking forward to all your shared knowledge and experience to help me become a good fish keeper, hopefully  :)

Offline fcmf

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
  • [PicCredit: @NiloSinnatamby]
Re: Hi everyone
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2024, 05:52:10 PM »
Welcome, @Mooster2705  :wave:

Have you bought a tank yet?  If so, what size?

Looking forward to hearing what your thoughts are on potential inhabitants for your tank after you've got it and "cycled" it (or, more specifically, its filter).

:fishy1: :fishy1:

Offline Mooster2705

• Fishy Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2024, 08:01:35 PM »
Yes, I've bought the Marina lux led 38 litre kit. I've also bought a small sponge filter and air pump with air stones. I'm in the UK and am looking at keeping nano fish. Got my eye on Dwarf Corys and Chili Rasboras with a few shrimp. I have used Tetra complete substrate with a 3-4mm gravel cap about an inch thick. Got plants including Valisneria, dwarf grass, java fern and another couple of varieties I cannot say or spell   :) I've also got some driftwood coming this week.
I filled the tank with Cl treated water yesterday and am thinking of using Fluval cycle to kick things off as it was recommended by my local fish shop.

Offline Matt

• @scapeeasy on Instagram
  • Global Moderator
  • www.scapeeasy.co.uk
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2024, 06:17:13 AM »
Welcome  :fishy1:

@Sue will be able to advise if the fluval product is “one of the good ones”.

Offline Sue

« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2024, 11:36:14 AM »
That substrate seems to be OK, I can't find any references to it leaching ammonia for months.