Hello From New Member

Author Topic: Hello from new member  (Read 4209 times) 18 replies

Offline MDW

• Fishy Contributor
  • Tropical Fish Keeper
Hello from new member
« on: August 27, 2019, 11:23:20 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hello everyone. I'm very new to fish keeping & have loads to learn.....
This is to be our new family hobby... Inspired by my 12 & 8 year old sons enthusiasm after recent visits to some sea life centres.
I'm intending to start off with cold water / temperate fish, we bought our first tank yesterday.  We came home with a Juwel primo 110L
aquarium. This came supplied with a Juwel Bioflow 500 filter system. We have done a little research, we intend doing a fishless cycle. From my other hobby (vintage watch repairs) I already have some Jeys kleen off household ammonia.
I'm sure someone will correct me if this is not the correct ammonia. I've not started the cycle yet. We wanted to set up the aquarium to test the equipment for 48 hours. We have filled the tank using API  tap water conditioner and have the temp set to 30 deg C. (will reduce temp when we stock with fish) We are now 24 hrs
into testing. All looking good....
I also bought some API ammonia test strips & API 5 in 1 test strips. All going well we will start the cycle tomorrow.
Any tips will be greatly appreciated.
P.S we live in North Essex. A hard water area, 370 mg/l.
Kind Regards Mel (and Boys)

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: Hello from new member
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2019, 10:51:00 AM »
Hi, welcome to the forum  :wave: