Author Topic: Beginner help please  (Read 4186 times) 31 replies

Offline Orientnut

• Super Subscriber!
  • Fishy Contributor
  • Tropical Fish Keeper
Beginner help please
« on: May 21, 2020, 10:23:13 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi. I'm an amateur with 60L tropical tank. I have a few live plants and some fish who seem OK, but I wanted to be sure my water is OK. So I bought a 6 in 1 test (strips), by Colombo. My readings were chlorine 0.8, PH 7.6, KH 20, GH >21, Nitrate 25 (according to their colour chart system). Are these OK? I don't really understand their instructions on what the readings tell me!? I'm juts looking for reassurance that I've started OK. Really appreciate some guidance as when I look on the Internet for answers, my head starts spinning! Thank you. Paul

Offline Matt

• @scapeeasy on Instagram
  • Global Moderator
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
  • www.scapeeasy.co.uk
Re: Beginner help please
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2020, 12:35:49 AM »
@Orientnut is this a sample of tap water you have tested or tank water? Also so we can advice suitability what fish do you currently have please?

Offline Orientnut

• Super Subscriber!
  • Fishy Contributor
  • Tropical Fish Keeper
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2020, 07:17:10 AM »
It's my tank water. My tank had been operational for about 10 days following my initial water treatment before adding fish. I have mollys, guppy, tetra, corydoras, Bolivian Ram. Thank you.

Offline jaypeecee

• Still learning...
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2020, 08:11:29 AM »
Hi @Orientnut

A few quick thoughts. Aquarium test strips are generally inaccurate. But, your chlorine figure is a bit high. Did you use a tap water conditioner? If so, which one? Have you 'cycled' the tank? If so, please let us have a few details.

That'll do for starters.

JPC

Offline Orientnut

• Super Subscriber!
  • Fishy Contributor
  • Tropical Fish Keeper
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2020, 08:38:15 AM »