Persisiting Ammonia With ADA Amazonia

Author Topic: Persisiting ammonia with ADA Amazonia  (Read 4639 times) 4 replies

Offline KAB

• Fish Fry
  • Tropical Fish Keeper
Persisiting ammonia with ADA Amazonia
« on: May 21, 2020, 07:39:59 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hello all. I am new to the hobby, and like many am a little overwhelmed at times by all the information available, but I do my best to try and research valid information to help.

My tank was set up, moderately planted with ADA Amazonia substrate, on April 1st. Rightly or wrongly I decided after reading that I did not want to use ammonia, fish food or a rotting prawn to cycle the system. Instead I followed what some call a "silent cycle" with the plants and advice from a video by Cory McIlroy (Aquarium Co-op) on Youtube

My tank seems to be thriving. The plants are growing well, my first fish seem very well & active, the water chemistry seem very stable with zero nitrites & near zero nitrates, pH 7.4.

What frustrates & puzzles me is the persistent low level ammonia in the tank. I measure this with API liquid reagents, NT Labs and also Seachem Ammonia test. I am water changing 25% twice weekly. The Free ammonia level registers a nil most days using the Seachem test and the calculated free ammonia is also is safe limits. But total ammonia is 0.5-1 ppm. I keep the temperature at 23 degrees.

I assume the tank is cycled, there was a small peak in nitrite & nitrates in the second week. I assume the low levels of nitrite/ nitrate, despite the persisting ammonia, is because the plants are utilising it?

A bit of a rambling first post, sorry, but thoughts on why the ammonia persists are welcome.

I should add I dose with Seachem Prime, for peace of mind if nothing else.

I understand that Amazonia leaches ammonia. Does this persist long term?

A Selection of Fish in my Fish Community Creator Tanks