New Tank Loads Of Qs - Please - Update At End Of Msg

Author Topic: New Tank Loads of Qs - Please - Update at end of msg  (Read 9924 times) 14 replies

Offline Woodsie

• Fishy Member
  • Tropical Fish Keeper
New Tank Loads of Qs - Please - Update at end of msg
« on: June 17, 2020, 03:23:25 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi all, I have been keeping fish for a few years but have decided to up my game, just a bit. Until recently I had a Fluval 125ltr. I'd had it for over 10 years and kept a variety of safe community fish in it. It was planted but not well and I didn't feed the plants etc. Well this sprung a leak when a seal burst and I decided to upgrade.
I am now the proud owner of a Aqua Vogue 245 - details below -
Make: Aqua One | Model: AquaVogue | Litres: 245
Aquarium Depth: 45.0cm | Width: 120.0cm | Height: 55.0cm

I took delivery, from Lynwood aquatics on 21/5/20. I put in standard gravel but also 4 shallow plastic take away boxes filled with tetra complete substrate and planted a few plants into these boxes at the back and a few smaller plants directly into the gravel at the front. I left it a while then slowly added the fish that had survived the leak and been kept in two much smaller tanks. I did this over a three week period.
The survivors are a mixed bunch as follows.
4 black neon tetra
1 Platy, I think :(   :fishy1:
3 Five striped barbs (very peaceful ones)
1 as yet unidentified but small and calm, if lonely
1 bristle nosed pleco (I have 2 but the 2nd one is bigger and disruptive e.g. digging up the substrate and plants so he's stayed in the small tank for now at least)
1 horseface loach (i think, very small bottom feeder) I now think it is a dwarf loach
1 Honey Gourami, mits a Gold apparently
1 Opaline Gourami.