Author Topic: White patches on Swordtail  (Read 9034 times) 20 replies

Offline Bazza2000

• Super Fishy Member
  • Tropical Fish Forum User
White patches on Swordtail
« on: November 06, 2019, 06:24:18 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi everyone,

Had a uneventful few months with my little friends, no further loss and everything appeared to be fine, until today.  One of my swordfish has developed white patches on her scales.  Its literally appeared over about 12 hours, fine this morning, and now white patches all over which is really worrying.  I'm no expert, but it doesn't appear to be white spot, I just wondered if anyone had seen anything like this before,

Thanks,

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: White patches on Sword Fish
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2019, 07:04:54 PM »
It's definitely not whitespot - that looks as though the fish has been sprinkled with salt.

It almost looks as though the fish has lost some scales - you can see her properly, has she lost scales or is the white on top of the scales?
I am not very good with diseases, but it if the white is on top of scales it suggests an infection. We can't get very strong medication without a vet's prescription, the best two meds to try are eSHa 2000 or Waterlife Myxazin.

Something I do need to check with you - how hard is your water? All the other fish in your signature are soft water fish, while swordtails are hard water fish, which will suffer in soft water.

Offline Bazza2000

• Super Fishy Member
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2019, 07:13:27 PM »
Hi Sue, thanks for the quick response.  Yeah, I had a post a couple of months back about the hardness of the water, I think I'm on the edge and in hindsight I wouldn't have purchased them, however, they do seems to have been thriving and I've seen fry in the tank recently from this female.  I've just taken some more closeups, it looks like a few scales are flaking off.

Offline Sue