A Sad Little Green Tiger Barb

Author Topic: A sad little Green Tiger Barb  (Read 20279 times) 55 replies

Offline Smurrayuk

• Fishy Member
A sad little Green Tiger Barb
« on: April 24, 2013, 11:12:40 AM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
I am new to the world of fish keeping so would appreciate a little help if anyone can?!

I set up my 35l tank a couple of weeks ago without any fish leaving it for about 4-5 days before adding any, I then bought a Green Tiger Barb, a Red Wag Platy and a Yellowtailed Snakeskin Guppy. All seemed ok, apart from the Guppy who has taken to hassling the Barb by pecking at its pectoral fins. I have been watching its fins, they do not appear damaged and the Barb wasn't particularly bothered by it, I think I just have an annoying little guppy with 'small fish syndrome'.

After about 10 days I did my first clean, since then the Barb seems really unhappy. It didn't eat at all last night, although this morning it obviously got a hungry because it went mad for the food!  It has seemed really jumpy as well since the clean, if I go near the tank it will dart all over the place and then hide behind the plants I have growing in the corner.

Can anyone offer any advice?  I'm not sure if perhaps the new water I put it is still adjusting, I did about a 25% change. I cleaned my filter in the bucket with the old water. And I added some chemicals to the new water to remove the chlorine and nitrates.

Thanks

A Selection of Fish in my Fish Community Creator Tanks
Neon Tetra (8) - Platy (2) - Otocinclus (2) - Japonica Shrimp (1) - Neon Tetra (8) - Platy (2) - Otocinclus (2) - Japonica Shrimp (1) - Ram / Butterfly Cichlid (1) -
Note: The user may not necessarily own these fish, these are tanks that they may be building or researching for stocking purposes

Offline jesnon

• Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: A sad little Green Tiger Barb
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2013, 11:42:19 AM »