Sick Tank!

Author Topic: sick tank!  (Read 3468 times) 7 replies

Offline shoequeen

• Fishy Contributor
  • Tropical Fish FTW!
sick tank!
« on: June 03, 2015, 09:16:54 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Something awful is happening in my tank. Its been up and running about a year and until about 2 months ago everything was going along ok.
Now I have a snail infestation and fish are getting sick and dying really often. I'm not an expert on fish disease but it seems like several different diseases are attacking, white spot on some, fin rot on others and some have ?pop eye. Other fish have just keeled over and died without showing any sign of illness first.
I've got 3 filters running, its a 160l tank and filters are in combination enough for 250l. Water testing is reading ok.
I've done so many partial water changes I'm starting to think that might be the problem. I picking out snails regularly which seems to be bringing the numbers down. I've used a water treatment for fish disease too.
I've got an old small tank (about 60l) and am seriously thinking I should transfer my fish into that for 24hrs and completely empty and clean the large tank and start all over again, is this a good idea? I know the fish will be a bit crowded in the small tank but I'm thinking in the long term this might be the only option.

A Selection of Fish in my Fish Community Creator Tanks
Rummy Nose Tetra (15) - Harlequin Rasbora (9) - Clown Loach (2) - Buenos Aires Tetra (8) - Black Molly (1) - Fiveband Barb (2) - Cardinal Tetra (19) - Rainbow Shark (1) - Featherfin Catfish (1) -
Note: The user may not necessarily own these fish, these are tanks that they may be building or researching for stocking purposes

Offline Cod_only_knows

• Rocking Fishy Member
  • Just for the halibut!
Re: sick tank!
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2015, 09:24:59 PM »