Author Topic: Possible sick Cory?  (Read 5272 times) 9 replies

Offline Rootjj

• Fishy Contributor
  • Total newbie!
Possible sick Cory?
« on: February 26, 2016, 11:20:05 AM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi,

Total newbie here and I'm probably worrying unnecessarily, but...

I've got a 50l tank that's been set up for about 6 weeks.  6 neon tetras were added after two weeks, and last weekend 4 guppies (1male, 3 female) and 3 peppered corydoras were added.  Things now seem to be going a bit wrong.

The neons seem fine, and shoal together nicely.  The guppies are fine (though there's a possibility that one is getting bullied a bit by the others.)  The corys don't seem too happy at all.  One was a lot smaller than the other two and was much less active. 2 days ago it seemed to sit on the bottom and appeared to be gasping before shooting to the top and coming straight back down again.  By the end of the day it had died  :(

Yesterday, I noticed one of the remaining corys was behaving oddly.  It was sitting on the bottom almost motionless with its gills flapping wildly before something grey fell out (not sure what it was, it looked almost like a thin flake of food, about 0.5cm across), after that it was happily grubbing around again.  This happened a couple of times over the space of about 15 mins.  Is it sick/infected?  I don't want to lose another fish if I can help it!

A Selection of Fish in my Fish Community Creator Tanks
Neon Tetra (6) - Salt and Pepper Catfish (2) - Guppy (male) (1) - Guppy (female) (2) -
Note: The user may not necessarily own these fish, these are tanks that they may be building or researching for stocking purposes

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: Possible sick Cory?
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2016, 12:52:05 PM »