Poorly Guppy (with Pic)

Author Topic: Poorly Guppy (with pic)  (Read 3599 times) 3 replies

Offline Rootjj

• Fishy Contributor
  • Total newbie!
Poorly Guppy (with pic)
« on: February 28, 2016, 06:26:25 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Back again with another sickly fish - this time it's a guppy...

We've had 3 female and one male guppy for about a week now.  One of the females died a couple of days ago.  The other half said it looked like it had a misshapen head and had trouble feeding, but the pet shop have said they'd replace it since it died within a week of buying it.

Another guppy is looking rather ill.  It's top fin seems to be almost non-existent and it looks to have a white lump under the fin.  I mentioned it to the pet shop when I popped in for a water test and they recommended dosing the tank with 'Anti Bacteria and Fungus' treatment (once today and again in 7 days) - this stuff treats external bacteria, fin & mouth rot, and cotton wool disease.

Would anyone be able to actually say what is wrong with my fish and if it's likely it can be saved?  I've attached a picture, hopefully it's good enough to use for a diagnosis...

A Selection of Fish in my Fish Community Creator Tanks
Neon Tetra (6) - Salt and Pepper Catfish (2) - Guppy (male) (1) - Guppy (female) (2) -
Note: The user may not necessarily own these fish, these are tanks that they may be building or researching for stocking purposes

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: Poorly Guppy (with pic)
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2016, 07:15:32 PM »
It could just be modern guppies, I'm afraid. They are quite weak fish these days due to inbreeding and commercial breeders using any fish to breed from, no matter how healthy (or otherwise) the fish might be.