Pearl With Popeye

Author Topic: Pearl with Popeye  (Read 7354 times) 12 replies

Offline Carol

• Fishy Member
Pearl with Popeye
« on: September 27, 2012, 02:42:53 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
My pearl danio has what I think is Popeye - but only has it in one eye!! 

Since this morning the eye is looking bigger and bigger and not looking good at all.

Can anyone advise how to treat it please?

Grateful for any help, thanks!!

Carol

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: Pearl with Popeye
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2012, 06:43:08 PM »
Since I'm not very good with diseases I googled popeye and found an article by Neale Monks - he is one of the the fish experts around.

To summarise what he says:
If it's both eyes, it's usually due to poor water conditions; if it's one eye it could also be injury.
Popeye is difficult to treat because there are three problems. Damage to the cornea, opportunistic bacterial infection (ie an infection that gets in to somewhere already damaged) and fluid behing the eyeball.
Cure: damage to the cornea - that will heal by itself in time if the water is kept extra clean. Swelling behind the eye - extra clean water, good diet, epsom salt baths in a separate tank (1 to 3 teaspoons per 5 gallons/20 litres). Treatment with medication used to treat finrot.
But if it really gets hold, it would need antibiotics, a problem for those of us in the UK.
Severe damage may never heal and the fish might lose the eye, but one-eyed fish can live quite happily in an aquarium.

Sorry I can't be any more help. I would try Neale's suggestions and see what happens.

Offline Carol

• Fishy Member
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2012, 09:26:18 PM »
Hi Sue - I thought you would come to the rescue (as always!!).  Im pleased the site is back up and running again.

That is really interesting info - thank you for your time finding out for me.