Help! What Am I Treating?!

Author Topic: Help! What am I treating?!  (Read 3310 times) 5 replies

Offline Ptaszek87

• Tropical Fish FTW!
Help! What am I treating?!
« on: April 16, 2014, 01:42:22 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hello all.  My name is Anna.  I'm relatively new to fishkeeping and brand new to the site.  Was really hoping it would be a while before I needed some expert advice but unfortunately I need some help.  My fish are getting sick and I am not sure with what.

I have a 36 gallon bowfront tank. 
temp 82
pH 7.6
Ammonia 0
Nitrites 0
Nitrates @ 20

I have 6 rummy nose tetras, 3 kuhli loaches, 1 pleco (bristlenose I think), and a couple ghost shrimp

Everyone made it through cycling with no problems and the above are my current numbers.

I used to have 4 bettas in this tank also (1 adult female, 2 juvi females and 1 juvi male).  All seemed to be getting along with no problems. Last Sunday morning, I found 2 bettas dead (the adult female and the male).  By the evening, another female was dead (still no sign of any disease).  thinking that the remaining female may have decided that she hated everyone, I removed her from this tank since she was chasing the tetras a little and put her into another tank.  The little tank's numbers were pretty good too.  temp a little higher (@84); ammonia 0, nitrites 0; nitrates higher at 80.  By the next morning, she was floating nose down, listless with a greyish "patch" over her abdomen.  The patch didn't look fluffy.  It covered at least half of her body.  In a desperate attempt to save her, and the 5 second search online I was able to get in before leaving for work, I put medicine in the tank (API fungus cure).  Sadly, it was too late for her and she died during the day.

I had a similar problem about a month ago when all of my neon tetras were decimated by something similar.