Fish Dying

Author Topic: Fish dying  (Read 3773 times) 5 replies

Offline Horcum

Fish dying
« on: October 08, 2013, 07:30:44 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
I am quite new to fish keeping and 'inherited'  a tank full of African cichlids from my son when he left home.  I re homed the cichlids and gave the tank a good clean, removed some of the rocks, added some bog wood and plants and after a couple of weeks added a few guppies, a few neon tetras and a dwarf gourami and a couple of platies.  The tank is a Juwal 190 the ph is constantly 7.6 (the end of the scale) the ammonia .25 - I cannot seem to lower the ph, twice weekly water change of 25lt - one by one the fish have been dying off - firstly swimming around the filter and then dying - no obvious sign of sickness. Nitrate very low, plants appear to be growing. Temp 26 degrees.  The guppies have produced a few young - but these have disappeared too. Took a sample of the water to my local fish store who advised that I took out the remaining rocks (Tuffa?) otherwise not too bad - suggested I continued with my water changes. Fish still dying - now down to one neon, four guppies, one platy and the gourami.
Any suggestions?

A Selection of Fish in my Fish Community Creator Tanks
Neon Tetra (6) - Dwarf Gourami (1) - African Banded Barb (6) - Guppy (female) (6) - Guppy (male) (4) - Penguin Tetra (4) - Rummy Nose Tetra (6) - Otocinclus (1) - Peacock Goby (1) - Keyhole Cichlid (1) - Kribensis (1) -
Note: The user may not necessarily own these fish, these are tanks that they may be building or researching for stocking purposes

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: Fish dying
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2013, 07:49:38 PM »
A couple of things spring to mind.