Filter Confusion.

Author Topic: Filter confusion.  (Read 3176 times) 7 replies

Offline TheCannyScot

• Fishy Member
  • Tropical Fish Keeper
Filter confusion.
« on: June 27, 2019, 11:36:13 AM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi folks, my name is Alan, but prefer to be known as Snoops. I'm 66 years young and although I live in North Wales, I am a proud Scot. I am a newbie to the group but not to keeping fish. Twenty years ago I kept a variety of central american cichlids in a 72x24x30in tank. Back then I was fully fit but am now disabled due to a serious m/c accident. Because of my restricted mobility, I have bought a second hand Aquastyle 620 and I am somewhat confused by its filtration system.
Looking down on the system, it seems that the spray bar only feeds onto the first and larger of the two filtration areas. I managed to find a video on YT which showed this. It explained that the water then flowed under the plastic partition into the second area and from there over a lip and back into the tank. My confusion lies in the fact that after flowing under the central partition, it would seem that it then has to flow in a reverse route through the different media before returning to the tank. Also, as the lip over which it flows before returning to the tank is lower than the carbon/floss cartridge, does it only pass through the ceramic noodles, and black carbon mesh before going over the lip??
Sorry about the description, but it's the easiest way for me to describe the issue.

Offline Matt

• @scapeeasy on Instagram
  • Global Moderator
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
  • www.scapeeasy.co.uk
Re: Filter confusion.
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2019, 12:46:43 PM »
Welcome to the forum Snoops!