Author Topic: Hey from Manchester area  (Read 3265 times) 9 replies

Offline shakyj

• Fishy Contributor
  • Tropical Fish Forum User
Hey from Manchester area
« on: January 16, 2017, 03:03:48 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hey,

I'm still fairly new to the tropical fishkeeping game but I'm on my second tank already. We had a 94L one and have a 300L one now.
Fish List:
1 x Spotted Hoplo - fully grown from the size of him
5 x Tiger Barbs - More to come
5 Mollys - 2 black, 2 orange ones, 1 sailfin
1 x Featherfin Synodontis - 6 months old but massive
1 x bristlenose plec
5 Ruby Barbs
1 Assassin Snail - I keep thinking he's gone then he pops up again

I have one question I started posting for I might as well put in here. We got a used 300L tank with a filter that the seller had new media for so I cycled with that but the filter is on it's way out by the sound of it(still running for now).
What's the best way to switch over to a new filter? Keep them both in till the bacteria settles on the new one?

On the same note too. Any opinions on the Fluval 406 Canister Filter?

Cheers

A Selection of Fish in my Fish Community Creator Tanks
Spotted Hoplo (1) - Tiger Barb (7) - Black Molly (5) - Sailfin Molly (2) - Featherfin Catfish (1) - Bristlenose Plec (1) - Assassin Snail (1) - Ruby Barb (5) - Ram / Butterfly Cichlid (4) -
Note: The user may not necessarily own these fish, these are tanks that they may be building or researching for stocking purposes

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: Hey from Manchester area
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2017, 04:33:43 PM »
Hi shaky, welcome to the forum  :wave:

Fluval 406 is quite highly regarded as a cannister (external).