Why Does My Platy Have A Red Belly?

Author Topic: Why does my platy have a red belly?  (Read 19407 times) 59 replies

Offline susie58

• Fishy Member
  • Tropical Fish FTW!
Why does my platy have a red belly?
« on: June 05, 2014, 07:40:44 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi. I am new to keeping fish as I only bought my first tank (biorb) in April this year. I have a 60 ltr biorb with 7 platy's 1 danio and 2 ghost shrimps and a 22 ltre heated tank with 1 male betta (red) called Kai. I have had problems with getting the biorb to cycle and have visited this site to learn all about ammonia/nitrates/nitrites etc. I have made a few classic mistakes (overstocked the tank too quickly) which caused the loss of 3 danios in a week. I seem to be on top of things now though - bought a water test kit and mastered the art of small, frequent water changes. The little platys in the biorb seem to be doing really well and the water has improved (ammonia 2.0/Nitrates 2.0 and Nitrites 2.0) but I can't seem to get the biorb to cycle as well as Kai's tank did (Ammonia 0.5/nitrates 0/nitrites 0).
So I have 2 questions please:
1. Is there anything I can do to get the levels down in the biorb (am adding a drop or two of filter boost daily as recommended by pet shop
2. One of the platys keeps 'shadowing' the others all the time - won't leave them alone even when they're being fed. He/she looks pregnant to be and is bigger than the rest, with a red underbelly. Is is a pregnant she or a rampant he?

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: Why does my platy have a red belly?
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2014, 08:52:16 PM »
Platies first.