Test Kits & Basics

Author Topic: Test Kits & Basics  (Read 5875 times) 28 replies

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: Test Kits & Basics
« Reply #20 on: November 28, 2016, 09:10:08 AM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Out of curiosity I have just measured the temp of our cold tap water, and it is 9oC. I am not a plant expert but I would think that is a bit cold for tropical plants.

Do you have a combi boiler or a hot water tank in the airing cupboard? If it is a combi boiler you can use hot tap water to warm the water going into the tank. But if you have a hot water cylinder it is safer to boil the kettle a few times to warm the water (because of what might contaminate the header tank in the attic)

Do you intend using a hose or buckets to fill the tank? In some ways a bucket is easier, though it will mean quite a few trips with your tank. It is easier to add boiling kettle water to a bucket. And it has the advantage that you can count the buckets and know exactly how much water the tank actually holds.
With the first fill you have a choice. You will need enough dechlorinator for the entire tank of water. With buckets you can either add the correct dose to each bucket or add it all to the first bucket. With a hose, add it as you start filling.

If you run the water into the tank through a colander, it will disturb the substrate less  :)

Offline sjames

• Super Subscriber!
  • Fishy Member
  • Tropical Fish Forum User
« Reply #21 on: November 28, 2016, 02:24:50 PM »
Thanks Sue, I keep hoping there are some easy methods and was hoping for a hose, you keep telling me as it needs to be. My house has both a combi and a tank, as I have some solar panels, so I cant control where the hot water is coming from, therefore I will be getting a big bucket and boiling the kettle.

in simple maths terms a 10L bucket is 25 and a half loads - think the expression is yikes:

Offline Sue

« Reply #22 on: November 28, 2016, 07:09:08 PM »