Stupid Newbie Questions ....know I've Done Some Stuff Wrong Already...

Author Topic: Stupid Newbie questions ....know I've done some stuff wrong already...  (Read 6094 times) 17 replies

Offline lowkey

• Fishy Contributor
  • Tropical Fish Forum User
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
I’m fairly new to all this – I kept a 60l biorb for about 10 years with danios, mollies, guppies and various tetra over the years -  but  haven’t had any fish for about 6 years and have never had a real tank-  and have a HEAP of questions:

I’ve read up here and realise I’ve done a few bad things already as I didn’t know about fishless cycling but here’s where I’m at:

Tank: Lovefish 94L (this is basically a stripped down/simple version of the Interpet  River Reef 94l and is made by Interpet for P@H it seems), but it’s tall and deep shape  at 51x44x53cm which I now realise means less swimming room but it was the one my kids liked best and biggest capacity tank I could afford and fit in our  available space….it was also a bargain as it was an ex display model (£40 off just ‘cos it didn’t have a box!).

It has a heater that seems to be heating the water just fine (I’ve a simple external thermometer sticker so I can see the temp) and an Interpet CF filter (I think the CF2 but poss the CF3) which is gloriously quiet.

I didn’t know about fishless cycling and after buying  tank, washing the gravel and letting it sit rinsing it etc then  adding gravel and décor to the tank  with the water and  with tap safe (API) I waited 48 hours then added 2x bottles of well shaken Tetra Safe Start and then I waited an hour and added 6 danios.

I did test the water and according to the API guide with test strips it seemed all ok in terms of PH and hardness…..I’ve now read that I need the re agent kit not strips, that I should’ve done bunch of stuff with ammonia and so forth …