Stocking Levels Are Confusing Me

Author Topic: Stocking Levels are confusing me  (Read 7032 times) 9 replies

Offline Crilliams

• Tropical Fish FTW!
Stocking Levels are confusing me
« on: October 17, 2014, 03:47:06 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Advice given to determin the correct amount of fish for my tank is proving to be rather inconsistant

I am brand new to fish keeping  - I have a small tank - the box says it is 25l.

The advice given in the shop is that I would be fine with 6 small fish an assasin snail and 3 shrimp.

I have stocked it with 3 guppies, a platy, a baloon molly and a dalmation molly, an assasin snail and 3 shirmp (under guidance from the shop) (in a phased approach over the last 2 months.

I have now read advice suggesting this is overstocked. However, the calculator on this website suggests I am well within stocking limits.

I can confirm that the tank has been succeffully cycled  :D and despite it being a small tank, the water quality appears to be of a really good consistant standard and is crystal clear. The tests all come back good. Algae is minimal at most. I have a 3 live plants (possible suffering al little as some leaves are a little browny - i believe i need to increase CO2 and reduce oxygen bubbles) and I have a superfish 100 filter with carbon media.

Please advise:/b]
1)  Is this tank overstocked?
2)  Why the calculator on this site differs considerably to advice given to me in shops and other websites?

All advice greatly appreciated. 

Offline ColinB

• Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: Stocking Levels are confusing me
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2014, 04:47:13 PM »
Hello, and welcome to the forum.

I've put your stock into the community creator and it comes out at 100% stocked and I would definitely say the Mollies are too much for the tank. If the box says 25litres then that will be with no substrate in and full to the brim - so it's far more likely to be about 20litres of actual water.