Should I Do A Water Change?

Author Topic: Should I do a water change?  (Read 3253 times) 4 replies

Offline fishcake76

• Rocking Fishy Member
Should I do a water change?
« on: January 27, 2014, 09:39:47 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi all,
I am completely new to fish keeping and have just begun cycling my new tank and am 7 days in now but my Mopani wood has released so much Tannins that you can't see a single thing unless the tank light is on!!!

Common sense tells me that doing a water change now will interfere with the cycling process but when I put any fish in I won't able to see them!!

My tank is small (30 litres) and has artificial plants, Mopani  wood, granite and gravel as decor. It is heated to 26°C  and has an internal filter which does have carbon filters in. My ph was 7.5 when I tested a couple of days ago.

What are your suggestions?  Should I take the wood out and continue to soak it else where ( I soaked it for a week before putting it in the tank) or do I start again?

Thanks for your time folks,

FC

Offline SteveS

• Superstar Think Fishy Member
  • With apologies to M.C.Escher
Re: Should I do a water change?
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2014, 10:49:17 PM »
You don't really need to see anything yet. There's no fish and no real plants to monitor. I would leave it alone.  The carbon in your filter will clear the tannins and the wood will release fewer and fewer as time goes on.  In addition, the last step in the cycling of your tank will involve a massive water change and this should clear up the residual coloration.

If it's really driving you to distraction, you can do a change if you wish; Just ensure that you top off the levels of ammonia in your tank after.

A Selection of Fish in my Fish Community Creator Tanks
Angelfish (1) - Panda Cory (10) - Harlequin Rasbora (10) - Otocinclus (10) - Japonica Shrimp (10) - Honey Gourami (10) - Galaxy Rasbora (10) -