Researching For Xmas

Author Topic: researching for xmas  (Read 3344 times) 1 replies

Offline kklassikk

researching for xmas
« on: October 26, 2013, 04:43:07 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
hi all, new to site and hoping for some advise. been sealife with my 3 young boys and they were so excited by it all i might look at getting a fish tank for xmas. seen a few complete set ups for sale, used, one at 60l and one 75l.  would 15l make much difference to what i could have in it? do i need something bigger/smaller? what would people suggest for those sized tanks? and how many fish? i know there's a lot of variables so rough guide please. my son loved the tang and clown fish type, so most likely tropical but would consider cold water set up. how often do i need to do things, ie change water, clean etc, complete novice but want to try to get lots of info before i commit. anyone recommend a good basic book? many thanks, look forward to your answers x

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: researching for xmas
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2013, 05:21:37 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
The best advice is get the biggest tank you can squeeze into the space you have in mind. It is a big problem with fishkeepers - we are never satisfied with what we have and always want more and bigger  ;D

Tang and clownfish are marine fish. Yes they are tropical, but they require salt water. This is more complicated than just filling a tank with water and getting fish. The water must have additives which must be carefully calculated and monitored. This can be quite complicated for someone who has never kept fish before.