Noob Here

Author Topic: Noob Here  (Read 5160 times) 9 replies

Offline RAYK47

Noob Here
« on: March 06, 2013, 12:05:58 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi all

Wanted fish for many years but never got round to taking the plunge.  However I purchased a 120ltr Interpet tank a few weeks ago with the intention of creating a tropical community. 

I have been looking around the interwebs and it is full of excellent advice but all a bit confusing to a noob. 

Currently the tank has standard gravel substrate and a few artificial plants.  There are plans to maybe get a few more plants and a couple of ornaments (that will allow more hiding places.

This has been like this for about 10 days and I was looking to get a few fish at the weekend.  his is where the headache starts.  I am struggling to find what fish I want in the tank.  I have used your compatibility app and everytime I add something I find it is incompatible with something or other. 

To be honest I dont have any real preference in what fish I want except for I would like a good range of colours and sizes.  I would like a couple of larger fish but also some shoaling fish as well. 

If anyone can provide some advice of good fish to add then please share. 

Unfortunately my local fish stockist are only pets at home however the Japanese koi carp company is not too far for the occasional visit.  If anyone knows of any good stockist (I am in North Herts but am willing to travel to any that is not too far)

Offline ColinB

• Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: Noob Here
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2013, 12:44:04 PM »
Firstly.... welcome to the forum. There's lots and lots of help to be found on here.

Secondly.... you need to cycle your tank before you add any fish. This is to 'grow' the ammonia and nitrite eating bacteria you need to keep your fish healthy and alive. You won't find better explanations than here:

Fishless cycling: http://www.thinkfish.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,16.0.html