Newbie With BiOrb 60L & Black Widow Tetras

Author Topic: Newbie with biOrb 60L & black widow tetras  (Read 11982 times) 37 replies

Offline Digs1923

• Fishy Member
  • Tropical Fish FTW!
Newbie with biOrb 60L & black widow tetras
« on: May 27, 2014, 12:06:27 AM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi everyone,  I'm very new to fishkeeping and have made so many stupid mistakes, it's embarrassing  :-[
First mistake was to get a biOrb - it looks great, but as I've discovered from reading this (and other) forums it's very limited and not the best environment for the fish.  Second mistake was to impulse buy three Black Widow tetras which have been in the tank since day one.  The biOrb was actually a birthday present for hubby (who's wanted fish for years) but he's just started a new job with long hours and it looks like I've taken over the upkeep (and I'm loving it!). 

As I'm slightly OCD when it comes to trawling the internet for advice and information, this will probably be better for the fish in the long run - my other half thinks you can just fill the tank with water, chuck in lots of BIG fish and leave 'em to it.  In fact the Black Widows were his idea and it's only since reading up I've realised that most of the fish on our original wish-list are not compatible with these little devils.  Having said that, I've got quite attached to them and wouldn't like to just take them back to the LFS.  I also would hate for anything to happen to them so have read so much on fish-in cycling that I've tied myself in knots!  I've got the API Master testing kit and have been regularly testing and doing partial water changes.