Newbie Questions

Author Topic: Newbie questions  (Read 3493 times) 6 replies

Offline Dragut

• Tropical Fish FTW!
Newbie questions
« on: April 05, 2015, 10:01:41 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hello you guys.
Actually I am not a complete newbie as I kept fishes 30 years ago  ;D .As far as I can see now it is a lot more scientific than it was and I must say  I am very much confused.
Basically I want to  keep Angelfish and I will start a 100 liters tank because it comes free ::-] I just want to keep angels, maybe little some company (any suggestions??) and I want to breed them later with a larger tank.
As I will get a hand-me-down tank with a few goldfish I don't know whether I need to change all substrate ,or just to keep them as they as ( obviously minus existing inhabitants).Do I need to cycle the tank before putting angels or just add them as tank and filter in use for long time.
Anyway these are first questions come up my mind now.
Thanks for all replies in advance.

Offline Sanjo

• Rocking Fishy Member
  • Tropical Fish FTW!
Re: Newbie questions
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2015, 05:58:27 AM »
Hello there Dragut.
Can't help with Anglefish - don't know enough about them.

On this website there is something called a "Community Creator" which tells you how many fish and what goes with what and whether they are compatible. It might be worth finding that.

If I had just inherited a 100 litre tank whose previous residents were goldfish I would want to give it a thorough cleanup, including removing the gravel and washing it really well. Goldfish are apparently very "dirty" fish so will have left a lot of their waste behind.

If it's many years since your previous fishkeeping days, and you say yourself that it is now very scientific, then I wonder how aware you are of things like water conditioner for removing ammonia from tap water.