New To Fish Keeping- Advice On Stocking A 54 Litre Tank Please!! :)

Author Topic: new to fish keeping- advice on stocking a 54 litre tank please!! :)  (Read 31090 times) 33 replies

Offline heather62

• Fishy Member
  • Tropical Fish Forum User
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi everyone! (and thanks in advance for any advice you can offer me!)

I am new to fish keeping (and very excited). I have a 54 litre Leddy 60 tank that is not set up yet but I am taking time first to make decisions regarding layout, plants and fish choices. I am planning on doing a fishless cycle (and will likely have questions when that stage is starting!)
It goes without saying that my primary concern is that I keep happy and healthy fish, so deciding which fish I keep is going to influence plants/ substrate etc, so I was hoping to have your opinions/ advice / help as much more experienced fish keepers!
I have searched the water quality in my area and these are the results:

Soft water
CaCo3 50mg/l
Ca 20 mg/l
degrees clarke 3.54
degrees french 5.05
degrees german 2.83

My dad keeps fish and lives just down the road, his pH is 7

Would any of these possible fish choices be advisable?:-

6 x dwarf rainbow
4 x cory

2x ram
4x cory
6-8 tetra/ rasbora

2 or 3 dwarf gourami
4 x cory
6-8 tetra/ rasbora

i have also considered either 1 male betta or a few female bettas with corys

I particularly like panda and false julii corys, but would also like an opinion on these vs pygmy corys

I am open to any advice (or fish pairings I haven't considered!). I am aware of some potential issues (health, territorial) with the rams and some gourami but until now have had no one to discuss if these are realistic or common problems that should stop me from considering these fish or not.
I also know that the tank isn't realistically going to be 54 litres, I have tried to keep this in mind when using the stocking calculator.