Author Topic: New Tank Advise Please  (Read 4597 times) 17 replies

Offline steven

• Fishy Member
  • Tropical Fish FTW!
New Tank Advise Please
« on: September 13, 2014, 08:17:59 AM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi
I am fairly new to fish keeping. I started a 90 Liter tank about a year ago and sorry to say things haven't gone very well. I did however, manager to keep 6 rainbows and 2 angel fish alive, but now I'm told they have out grown my tank so I took the plung and bought a 175 Liter. I don't want to make same mistakes so here goes.
Problem is I get conflicting advise from different Aquatic shops. Some say to use Carbon all the time, and some say never use it except when cleaning meds or when the water gets murkey.
Also some say use salt water, and some say don't.
I'm sure these topics have been discussed here but can't find them.
Can someone please help me?

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: New Tank Advise Please
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2014, 12:23:25 PM »
175 litres is a nice tank size. I got a 180 in January  ;D

Carbon doesn't need to be used all the time except in certain circumstances. It removes chemicals from the tank, but only those that bind covalently. So it doesn't remove things like ammonium (and ammonia is almost all in this form) nitrite or nitrate. It does remove tannins (the brown stuff) that leaches out of bogwood; and medications when treatment has finished; and any odd smell you might notice. It will also remove organic waste products from the fish, but then so will water changes  ;)

You don't need to use salt either. It is bad for some fish. The use of salt arose many years ago as it mitigates the effect of nitrite. But since there should be no nitrite in the tank, you don't need it. It can help during fish-in cycling to counteract nitrite, and it can help to treat whitespot in combination with high temperatures.