New Penguin Tetras Aggressive And Apparently Eating Each Other

Author Topic: New Penguin tetras aggressive and apparently eating each other  (Read 8359 times) 15 replies

Offline Alwyn

• Fishy Contributor
  • Tropical Fish Forum User
New Penguin tetras aggressive and apparently eating each other
« on: February 08, 2017, 04:48:50 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hello,
I'm a beginner, and have a new tank. I did a fishless cycle - see details of tank, and the cycling below. Once my tank was cycled, I bought 6 penguin tetras. All 6 seemed fine in the shop tank. By the time I got home one had bits nibbled out of its tail. I acclimatized them, then put them in the tank. By morning there were only 5 fish in the tank. No signs of Penguin 6 remained. I thought he was perhaps hiding and perhaps sick, so I searched under the ornaments/plants for him. No sign of him in the tank at all. Then another has disappeared last night... They are all feeding fine and swimming around the middle-top of the tank. No-one is gulping air at the surface.

But they are all very aggressive and bullying. I cant see that its one individual, seems to be all of them gang up on the weakest.

I know I should have more than 4 (or even 6) - I bought all the stock they had, and I didnt want to overload my tank initially.

My questions/dilema now is, do I go and get more penguin tetras to try and balance out the group, or do I leave them as they are and hope they calm down/stop eating each other?!