New Filter

Author Topic: New filter  (Read 3896 times) 8 replies

Offline evo676

• Tropical Fish FTW!
New filter
« on: March 16, 2015, 11:33:17 AM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
I am very new to tropical fish keeping, and this is my first post on this forum, so Hi Guys.
My old filter in an established tank is making a terrible noise, I think it is about to pack in.  I have just purchased a Fluvial U4 filter to replace it in my 200l tank.  Is it just a matter of taking the sponges and media from my old filter and putting them into my new unused filter and everything will be fine when I up it into my tank ? or is there anything else I need to be aware of  ?

Offline naughtymoose

• Super Fishy Member
Re: New filter
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2015, 11:56:16 AM »
Hi Evo, and welcome

If possible, try and run the filters together until your existing one packs up.

If you can put some of the media from the existing one in to the U4 easily, then do so.

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2015, 12:38:41 PM »
I have checked the U4 instruction manual and see that it has a biomax cartridge in the centre, 2 boxes which hold sponges and two poly carbon pads.

I would put the new biomax in the centre box but squeeze as much of the old media as possible in place of the sponges and poly carbon pads. That is, unless the old filter uses biomax, in which case out the old biomax into the new filter. Any media that won't fit into the new filter, leave in the old filter until it does give out.

When the old filter dies, if there is any of the old media inside you will lose the bacteria on that but the bacteria in the media you put into the U4 and all the bacteria in the other surfaces inside the tank will soon multiply to make up the loss. keep an eye on your ammonia and nitrite for a few days to be on the safe side, and do a water change if you see either of them above 0.25.