New Aquarium, Help Needed With Substrate.

Author Topic: New aquarium, help needed with substrate.  (Read 3493 times) 8 replies

Offline Marley83

• Tropical Fish FTW!
New aquarium, help needed with substrate.
« on: April 06, 2015, 07:59:19 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
I am not entirely new to fish keeping as have had a 60l biorb for about 6 years. I am now moving away from the biorb and have just purchased a 190 juwel trigon corner aquarium.

Coming from a biorb I have had no experience with selecting the right substrate and was hoping to get some advice so I don't make any mistakes that will be hard to fix after the tank is cycled and has fish in.

I would like to eventually have the tank quite heavily planted so will need a substrate that is suitable, after reading the plant forum I was thinking of using J Arthur Bowers compost with either gravel or sand on top.

Ideally I would like a light coloured sand on top of the compost but the man in my LFS said I would be best to use gravel not sand as the sand will work its way into the compost and look untidy.

Any advice on the above would be much appreciated.

Regards Marley

Offline Richard W

• Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: New aquarium, help needed with substrate.
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2015, 06:52:58 AM »
I have both sand and gravel on top of soil substrate in different tanks and both work fine.  I haven't had any problems though the plants seem to grow a little better with gravel. Don't put more than 2 cms of sand on the soil as a deeper layer can affect  water circulation to the plant roots. I use J Arthur Bowers Lime free silver sand.

If you use compost, it must be soil-based i.e. John Innes, not the ordinary potting compost which is mainly organic material which will rot away in the tank. And it must be JI No.1 as No 2 and 3 have too much fertiliser included.

Offline Diz1

• Tropical Fish FTW!
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2015, 08:18:33 AM »