New Aquarium And Substrate

Author Topic: New aquarium and substrate  (Read 3411 times) 11 replies

Offline Lynne W

• Super Fishy Member
  • Tropical Fish Forum User
New aquarium and substrate
« on: January 14, 2018, 01:48:02 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hiya, I’m setting up a new tank and want live plants and I’d prefer a sand substrate. The guy in the shop gave me jbl aquabasis plus along with sand as a substrate, but now that I’m reading up on different substrates I’m not sure that the best way to go. Would I be better just going with sand? And if so what should I look out for?
Last time I had an aquarium was 30 years ago so really I’m a complete novice and really keen to get it right! 🐠

A Selection of Fish in my Fish Community Creator Tanks
Rummy Nose Tetra (16) - Harlequin Rasbora (14) - Panda Cory (3) - Fiveband Barb (14) - Pearl Gourami (4) -
Note: The user may not necessarily own these fish, these are tanks that they may be building or researching for stocking purposes

Offline Littlefish

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
  • aka Donna
Re: New aquarium and substrate
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2018, 02:54:24 PM »
Hi there and welcome to the forum.  :wave:

I use jbl aquabasis plus with sand substrate in my tanks. I also use the jbl root balls (which I sometimes cut in half), dotted around when I think plants need a bit of a top up. I use TNC liquid fertiliser and liquid carbon on a regular basis to.

There are a lot of pros and cons to various planting substrates, inert substrates (sand), fertilisers, etc. and quite often it comes down to personal preference for the fish planned for the tank, and the owner.

It is fine to use just sand for live plants, but I would say that you would need root tabs as well, unless you plan to concentrate on things like anubias, java fern, bucephalandra - plants that are attached to decor rather than planted.