Author Topic: Lots of Algae forming  (Read 5536 times) 26 replies

Offline Rigsby1208

• Fishy Contributor
  • Tropical Fish Forum User
Lots of Algae forming
« on: April 11, 2016, 09:43:26 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi
I'm quite new to fish keeping, but seem to be getting on OK.
The key problem I have is a lot of algae build up all over tank sides, stones in the bottom of the tank, plants etc.
I do the 25% bi weekly water changes and cleaning but the siphon doesnt get close to cleaning the stones at the tank base, and I have to take them out to give them a decent clean every month or so.
Is this normal??
Would an algae eating fish help?
My tank is under stocked so shouldnt be a problem from that perspective.
In terms of water, its quite hard and PH and nitrates on the upper limit.

Thanks in advance

Offline Fiona

• Super Hero Member
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: Lots of Algae forming
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2016, 12:11:41 AM »
What type of algae and how long has your tank been up and running and what do you have in there currently? Also how long are your lights on for an is the tnk near a window?

Once we know that we'll have a better idea of causes, how to help and recommendations to solve the problem.

Welcome to the forum by the way  :wave:

Offline Littlefish

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • aka Donna
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2016, 08:28:12 AM »
Hi Rigsby1208 and welcome to the forum.  :wave:

Offline Sue

« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2016, 09:47:29 AM »
Fiona asked about the type of algae - this website has an algae ID guide. The causes and cures it gives are mainly for heavily planted tanks, but knowing what algae you are dealing with will help.
All tanks have some algae, the problems arise when it starts to take over.