List Of Fish Suitable For High PH And Hard Water

Author Topic: List of fish suitable for high pH and hard water  (Read 73199 times) 26 replies

Offline Mascol

• Fishy Member
  • Tropical Fish Forum User
List of fish suitable for high pH and hard water
« on: June 24, 2016, 09:13:24 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
So I have been keeping fish for a few years, but to my shame only realised quite recently the importance of keeping fish in water that suits them. This explains my lack of success with neon tetras in the past :-\ - Hertfordshire tap water rocks (pH 8.1, KH 14, GH 19)!  Yes, it's well hard  8).

As I'm about to upgrade to much larger tank (from a 90 to a 240 L) , and will be a able to stock some additional fish, I decided to do some research on what fish would be happy in my new ultra-hard water tank. Well, the good news is that there are many more fishes out there than you might expect.

Please note this is NOT a complete list of all species suitable for hard/high pH water. It is simply a list of fish that fit the specific requirements for my new tank:

1. No fish bigger than 12 cm
2. Community fish only - you'll find no cichlids here!
3. Suitable for both high pH and high GH (with a couple of borderline exceptions, e.g congo tetra)
4. Suitable for 240 L / 120 cm long tank
5. No livebearers (except platy and wrestling halfbeak - I've enough difficulty keeping my existing platy population under control!)
6. No goldfish

Whilst doing my research I found lots of forum posts of fellow-fishkeepers asking for stocking advice for hard water/high pH aquariums, but not a great many recommendations (the notable exceptions being two articles by Neale Monks on wetwebmedia). I therefore hope that this list is of some use to others.

Most information has been drawn from seriouslyfish, with additions from a few other websites.