Is There A Simple Way To Empty Tank?

Author Topic: Is there a simple way to empty tank?  (Read 2439 times) 4 replies

Offline pollydoodle

• Super Fishy Member
  • Tropical Fish Forum User
Is there a simple way to empty tank?
« on: July 15, 2018, 02:24:20 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Well, being a newbie, I've only done a few water changes and each time I've tried something a bit different to try and make things easier.  So far I've succeeded in soaking the carpet, me,  the Granddaughter - and the dogs had the sense to get out of the way!      :vcross: :rotfl:

What I've been trying to do, is once the syphon is running, connect to the hose (tried a funnel into the hose, fail!) and out into the garden, a distance of about 20' through the dining room, as said previously, ending in a bit of a mess!  I have thought about putting a hose connection on the end of the syphon and quickly joining it to the hose, but probably will be another failure  :-[
The other solution is to syphon into a 25l container, connect a submersible pump to the hose and then out into the garden, which would likely be the best idea at the moment.  I  fill the tank with the submersible pump, which on first use was another fail  :-[ forgot to take the end out of the tank and whilst turning on the hose on the outside tap, the water started running back into the container.  My Granddaughter was too busy on her phone to notice ::)
Does anyone have any other suggestions, polite ones preferably  :rotfl:

Offline Littlefish

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
  • aka Donna
Re: Is there a simple way to empty tank?
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2018, 02:36:17 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 1
The only up side to this very hot weather is that the carpets dry quite quickly after a water change.  :)
I syphon into 10L containers and carry them to the garden when doing maintenance on the smaller tanks.