Help! Tank Suddenly Full Of Algae.

Author Topic: Help! Tank suddenly full of algae.  (Read 6569 times) 26 replies

Offline emmzz75

• Fishy Contributor
  • Tropical Fish Forum User
Help! Tank suddenly full of algae.
« on: June 27, 2016, 04:41:41 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi, I'm very new to fish keeping. I got a 40L tank 5 weeks ago. I ran it for 1 week and then added 2 plants. Then after 2 weeks I added 5 neon tetras and 2 cory catfish. Everything seemed fine. After 3 weeks I added 3 small snails. After 4 weeks I changed the filter and did about a 20% water change and cleaned the sides and gravel.

Now a week after the water change the algae levels have suddenly gone crazy in the last few days and the tank isn't smelling too good! Fish still seem fine and I've done a dip test thing and levels are good according to the leaflet enclosed!

So is this normal? And can I do anything as I really don't want a cloudy, smelly fish tank :(

Thanks, Emz x

Offline Fiona

• Super Hero Member
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: Help! Tank suddenly full of algae.
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2016, 04:49:52 PM »
Hi emmz75 welcome to the forum  :wave: , we can most certainly help solve your problems.

New tanks often suffer from an algae bloom of one type or another so a few questions.  What colour is the algae bloom and what does the water smell of? Unless you use charcoal tank water will always smell what I call 'live', it smells but its not particularly offensive.

Did you cycle your tank using ammonia? If you haven't there's a chance your tank is still cycling which means you'll need to do more water changes for a while, although if the water smells foul I'd probably recommend a water change asap, unless the water is really toxic it can take a day or two for fish to start displaying signs of ill health

You say you've tested the water, does that include ammonia? Can you let us know your other results as that would be very helpful. ie nitrites, nitrates, pH as well.