Gravel Cleaner/Ammonia Build Up - Recommendations Please

Author Topic: Gravel cleaner/Ammonia build up - recommendations please  (Read 3562 times) 6 replies

Offline GoodLifeSpud

Gravel cleaner/Ammonia build up - recommendations please
« on: November 29, 2013, 02:31:59 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi all

I'm a complete novice who has a small ish fish tank (48L) with 6 Black Neons and 6 Harlequins, plus 3 nano shrimps.  I have had the tank up and running of 12 weeks.  The first six fish were introduced after about five weeks and the second lot in week nine.  The shrimps are the most recent addition.  All the fish have managed to stay alive so I can't be doing anything too wrong  :D

I've been doing small weekly water changes (typically 10%) as the fish store have advised me that the tank amonia levels are a little bit high. Probably from the introduction of the new fish.  I don't think it's over feeding as I have kept this down to one every other day (again on the advice of the fish shop) and only small amounts.  On my last visit to the shop they suggested that perhaps I hadn't been cleaning the gravel as well as I might. Not getting under the surface level.

I've been using an interpet small gravel cleaner (two bits of plastic tubing, with a small bit of hose/pipe attached) but it's been really hit and miss in terms of effectiveness - I struggle to get the action right to build up the pressure and when it does work the flow is really quick and sucks too much gravel up into the tube, blocks it and then I have to start all over again. By which point I have lost my temper  >:( and taken out as much water as I dare.  :o

It might just be a question of practice but I was hoping someone might have a recommendation for a different type of cleaner (ideally battery/electronic). Help!