Author Topic: Fish that can fit in a 10L tank?  (Read 45324 times) 15 replies

Offline Barney626

• Fishy Member
  • Blue Rams - Never Again...
Fish that can fit in a 10L tank?
« on: May 19, 2015, 04:05:38 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi,

I am very new to fish keeping, only experience being a family fish tank which was mainly maintained by my parents when I was younger. I am looking for a small tank which is preferably inexpensive to put in my room. I looked about the internet and found the 'Marina 360 10L'. It has good reviews on amazon (How reliable they are, I do not know) and has an in-built filtering/lighting system.

I want to know if this is a good quality tank (good enough to keep the poor fish alive ;) ) and what would be the best type/number of fish to put in it for me (new to fish keeping)?

Thanks,
Barney

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: Fish that can fit in a 10L tank?
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2015, 04:23:04 PM »
Hi Barney  :wave:

I have to tell you that a 10 litre tank is not suitable for any fish. You might get away with keeping shrimps in it but that's about all. Please ignore all those comments on Amazon. This size is not suitable for neon tetras, white clouds etc and certainly not for goldfish.
If you went for something a bit bigger you would be able to keep a siamese fighting fish, usually known by the name betta these days. The minimum for a betta is 5 American gallons, which is 19 litres.

But small tanks are harder to maintain and don't give you much choice in fish. If you could accommodate something with a footprint of 60 x 30cm you'd have much more choice. The 50 litre tank in my signature is this size, though it is a shallow tank. Taller tanks would give you something like 60 litres. And even bigger would give you a lot more choice.