First Tank Decisions

Author Topic: First tank decisions  (Read 4319 times) 18 replies

Offline Zombrak

• Fishy Contributor
  • Tropical Fish FTW!
First tank decisions
« on: April 20, 2015, 04:27:06 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
HI there and thank you for letting me join the forum. I am a complete newbie when it comes to fish but i have always wanted a tank.

I recently purchased a 98 llitre tank with my wife and have started the fishless cycle. My main questions are that i am trying to decide what fish to put in the tank. I really want guppies and have been reading about what i need to have them. My wife wants some neon tetras and she knows she will have wait a few months after the tank has started to add fish before adding them. But what other fish could go with them and what would be a good number of each fish.

Any help would be gratefully accepted

Adam

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: First tank decisions
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2015, 05:13:00 PM »
The problem that you have is that guppies and neon tetras are not very compatible. Guppies like hard alkaline water and neons like soft acid water.
Before we make any suggestions for you, can you tell us your pH and hardness? If you have a test kit, that should include pH, and hardness should be somewhere on your water company's website - make a note of the units they use as there are several possible ones!

Offline Zombrak

• Fishy Contributor
  • Tropical Fish FTW!
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2015, 05:40:03 PM »
Thank you for the reply. I can let you know the water according to our supplier is soft , also I can reply in morning with our ph as I have a kit but currently at Wirk. I didn't know that they were not compatible :(. But this is why I have joforum the forum and I'm doing fishless cycling. So I can read up and speak to actual owners, not just fish store employees

Offline Sue

« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2015, 07:05:28 PM »