Author Topic: Dimensions of a spherical tank  (Read 5801 times) 14 replies

Offline ros77uk

• Super Subscriber!
  • Fishy Contributor
Dimensions of a spherical tank
« on: March 15, 2013, 10:49:46 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hello

I am confused by the Community Creator.  It asks for the length of my tank - but my tank is an Aquael 45, a sphere... :'(

Can anybody help?  is there a standard size which ThinkFish want me to put in there?

Ros

TigzFish

Re: Dimensions of a spherical tank
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2013, 11:32:13 PM »
The length of a sphere is the same as the circumference, so measuring around the outside of the widest part of the bowl will give you the approximate equivalent length.

Offline Resa

• Superstar Think Fishy Member
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2013, 12:33:15 AM »
Hi Ros,
Welcome to the forum.
What are you going to have in your sphere?  I'm new to fishkeeping so I'm interested in what other people have got, (some might say nosey! :))

A Selection of Fish in my Fish Community Creator Tanks
Panda Cory (11) - Otocinclus (2) - Platy (3) - Dwarf Rainbowfish (7) - Dwarf Gourami (2) - Red Phantom Tetra (5) - Salt and Pepper Catfish (2) - Otocinclus (2) - Guppy (male) (4) - Dwarf Gourami (1) - Platy (6) - Dwarf Rainbowfish (5) - Panda Cory (6) - Otocinclus (2) - Salt and Pepper Catfish (6) - Dwarf Gourami (1) - Platy (5) - Guppy (male) (4) - Otocinclus (2) - Panda Cory (6) - Platy (3) - Dwarf Rainbowfish (5) -
Note: The user may not necessarily own these fish, these are tanks that they may be building or researching for stocking purposes

Offline SteveS

• With apologies to M.C.Escher
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2013, 05:57:00 AM »
The length of a sphere is the same as the circumference, so measuring around the outside of the widest part of the bowl will give you the approximate equivalent length.

Wouldn't the length be more accurately given by the diameter?