Buying Fish Already Pregnant?

Author Topic: Buying Fish already Pregnant?  (Read 7166 times) 1 replies

Offline ClaireD85

Buying Fish already Pregnant?
« on: September 07, 2013, 02:08:02 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi, I am new to tropical fish keeping. I set up my tank around 4 weeks ago and bought some Neon Tetras and a couple of small fish. I decided I wanted a couple of bigger fish to brighten it up so on thursday evening I went to the local fish shop. I have never bought fish from there as the shop I usually use is around 30 mins away so thought I would have a look. My little girl spotted out some Dalmation mollies as she thought they were like Mickey mouse. I got 3 dalmation mollies and 1 golden molly. All females. On getting them home I thought a couple looked rather large and I was thinking the golden molly could be pregnant. I noticed this morning there are lots of tiny fish and one of the dalmation mollies is now half the size, is moving rather slow and doesn't look happy.  I popped into another pet shop earlier to ask for advice and they said they would of known if there pregnant and shouldn't be selling them. Has anyone else experienced this? Where do I stand regarding the pet shop who sold the fish?

Offline Resa

• Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: Buying Fish already Pregnant?
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2013, 04:08:17 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi Claire,

Welcome to the forum!