Bigger Powerhead??

Author Topic: Bigger powerhead??  (Read 9523 times) 6 replies

Offline Mervyn

• Super Fishy Member
Bigger powerhead??
« on: October 30, 2012, 05:31:33 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi,
I am a complete newbie and am in day 4 of my fishless cycle.
 I have a new Rio 180 and taking into account substrate and decor I estimate 160 Litres of water. The latest nitrites are .50ppm so the bacteria seems to be starting.

Now completely nothing to do with cycling the tank,I have read conflicting advice on whether the internal 600 Filter is enough for this sized tank.

All of the Juwel powerheads will fit in this filter so would it be a good thing to get a more powerful pump?
After all the expense of purchasing the tank,cabinet,substrate etc and the pump being brand new, would it be much more beneficial to get a larger powerhead?
Thanks
Mervyn

A Selection of Fish in my Fish Community Creator Tanks
Bristlenose Plec (2) - Golden Barb (8) - Angelfish (8) - Platy (8) - Dwarf Gourami (1) - Panda Cory (8) - Rosy Barb (7) - Boeseman's Rainbowfish (7) -
Note: The user may not necessarily own these fish, these are tanks that they may be building or researching for stocking purposes

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: Bigger powerhead??
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2012, 07:31:37 PM »
You'll find the subject of Juwel filters is one of controversy. Some people love them, others hate them.