All Set Up

Author Topic: All set up  (Read 2579 times) 5 replies

Offline pollydoodle

• Super Fishy Member
  • Tropical Fish Forum User
All set up
« on: May 28, 2018, 03:56:10 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
My son set the tank up for me yesterday afternoon and I am really pleased with the result.  However there are numerous tiny bubbles on every surface, inc silk plants.  Is this because of air still in the fabric or just everything settling down and therefore normal. I added doses of Prime and Stability in the evening.

Cant wait for the water to reach the required state.  I have read it could take as little as a week or maybe 6 weeks.  I live in a hard water area in Dorset

I'm busy researching for my first fish (probably Danios) and getting really excited

Thank you so much for all the help I have received on this site, being a total beginner it is invaluable to me. x

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: All set up
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2018, 04:21:59 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 1
The bubbles are out of the water. I presume you used a lot of cold tap water? The colder the water the more dissolved gases it can hold, and vice versa. So as the cold tap water warmed up a lot of the dissolved gases stopped being dissolved and formed the bubbles.

Are you going to plant lots of live plants and use them to take up the ammonia made by the fish, or do you plan on having mainly fake plants?
Testing the water won't show if it is ready for fish because with no fish there is nothing to make the water 'bad'.