Advice For A Newbie Please

Author Topic: Advice for a newbie please  (Read 26109 times) 46 replies

Offline Natasha

• Fishy Member
Advice for a newbie please
« on: May 21, 2013, 12:15:49 AM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hey everyone,
I’m new to keeping tropical fish and wanted to ask some advice from all the experts on here as to what fish they would recommend    :)
I live in Bristol so my water is quite hard, the info I got from my water company gave me these stats:

pH                                                7.5
Calcium Ca (mg/l)                       103
Magnesium Mg (mg/l)                  6.5
Total Hardness CaCO3 (mg/l)    283
UK degrees Clark (oC)                20
Degrees French (of)                    28
Degrees German (odH)              17
Flouride (mg/l)                             0.09
Alkalinity CaCO3 (mg/l)              169
Alkalinity HCO3 (mg/l)                206
Chloride Cl (mg/l)                        50.3
Nitrate NO3 (mg/l)                       21.7
Phosphate P (mg/l)                     1.5
Sodium Na (mg/l)                        32.2
Sulphate SO4 (mg/l)                   81.81
Conductivity (µS/cm)           593 at 20oC

I am getting a Classica Aqua Curve 50L tank and was planning on fishless cycling the tank while you help me decide which fish would be good to start with.
Any information or advice you think would be helpful would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks in advance, Natasha x

A Selection of Fish in my Fish Community Creator Tanks
Lake Tebera Rainbowfish (4) - Celebes Rainbow (4) - Panda Cory (4) - Dwarf Rainbowfish (4) - Glass Bloodfin (6) - Lemon Tetra (6) - Platy (6) - Zebra Danio (6) - Glowlight Danio (6) -
Note: The user may not necessarily own these fish, these are tanks that they may be building or researching for stocking purposes

Offline Resa

• Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: Advice for a newbie please
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2013, 12:30:32 AM »
Hi Natasha and welcome!