Advice And Reassurance For A Newbie?

Author Topic: Advice and reassurance for a newbie?  (Read 3247 times) 4 replies

Offline Onyor

Advice and reassurance for a newbie?
« on: May 23, 2013, 10:29:44 AM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi everyone! I'm new to fishkeeping and  these forums and was hoping for some advice.  I recently bought a 120l fishpod, set it up with substrate, gravel a few plants and ornaments. I switched on the filter and heater, left it to settle for a few days then added ammonia to begin the fishless cycle.  It is now day 10 since the addition of ammonia and there has been no change in the water tests, ammonia is at 4ppm, nitrite is 0, and pH is 7.5. The heater is currently set to 30 deg C.

Now for my questions! First of all, 9 days after setting up the aquarium, i noticed that the water movement from the filter had visibly decreased, I took it apart and cleaned it (in tank water) and it seemed to return to full function. It is now 4 days after cleaning and the function seems to have dropped again. Is this normal, or is the filter struggling to cope with the size of the tank?

appearance wise, the water is slightly murky, and a fluff-like substance has started to accumulate on the plants and ornaments, is this normal?

Also, there seems to be an oil-like substance on the surface of the water, everything was washed prior to set up, and the only things that were added to the water is tapsafe and some filter start (came with the tank) which i added in the first few days. any ideas what this could be?

Finally, is it normal for no changes to water tests in 10 days since the ammonia was added?

I'm sorry to bombard you all with questions, but I want to make sure I don't make any silly mistakes!
Thanks for reading  :)

A Selection of Fish in my Fish Community Creator Tanks
Dwarf Rainbowfish (6) - Cardinal Tetra (6) - Dwarf Gourami (6) - Harlequin Rasbora (10) - Kribensis (2) - Black Molly (4) -