Author Topic: adding more fish  (Read 4505 times) 11 replies

Offline Hannspree

• Fishy Member
  • Tropical Fish FTW!
adding more fish
« on: March 31, 2015, 09:43:33 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi Guys

I'm new here :) I'm pretty new to fish keeping and I'm enjoying it so far :-D i was just wondering if I could add some more fish to my 27 litre tank, at the moment I have 8 Endlers & 6 shrimp but I'm not sure if i can add a different spices of fish or more of the ones i have any suggestions please ? :) or am i fully stocked.

(hopefully i can get a bigger tanks at some point)

Here is a picture of my tanks.

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: adding more fish
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2015, 10:58:19 AM »
Nice looking tank  :)

With just 27 litres, I wouldn't get any more fish. The only fish small enough to fit are shoaling fish and tend to be shy so you need more than half a dozen for them to feel safe. And bigger, single fish such as a betta (siamese fighting fish) would probably eat your shrimps, or at least try to and damage them.

Or get a few more endlers. If you look round a few shops you'll find a variety of colours and pattern types which would make it look like you have different species. I can see in the pic that you have at least five black bars and one tiger endler; there are other types if you look around.

Offline Hannspree

• Fishy Member
  • Tropical Fish FTW!
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2015, 06:16:56 PM »
Thanks Sue :)

do you think adding 2-4 more endlers will be ok ? i do want to get as many as i can is there but dont want to overstock my tank so the fish stay happy & healthy :)

also the shrimp hide allot ? i can normal only see 3-4 out the 6 in there when i look, im always a bit worried when i cant find them lol and if i add more shrimp will that affect stock in my tank as i read that they basically add no additional load to the tank.

Offline Sue

« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2015, 06:39:10 PM »