5gallon Long ???? Heaters Filters And Aquascaping

Author Topic: 5gallon long ???? heaters filters and aquascaping  (Read 4003 times) 9 replies

Offline graygang

• Fishy Member
5gallon long ???? heaters filters and aquascaping
« on: August 31, 2013, 08:55:51 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
I'm new to fish keeping and it safe to say I'm addicted !! Basically after I purchased my first tank.I went on the hunt for more lol any way I grabbed a bargain and got a 50 odd litre(10 gal) a 25 litre (5 gal) and a 20 litre for just 40 pound .  To cut to the chase the 25 litre (5gal) is unique I can't seem to find any similar on any website or forum, it's 24 inches long by 8.high and 8 wide. I wanna  do some mad natural looking aquascaping and would just like some suggestions of what other peoples thoughts or what u would do with the tank ? I'm thinking betta fish with some natural lookin aquascape ascending left to right(such as a rock one end representing a mountain sloping down towards a beach or jungle seeing as the tank has alot of length in comparison to it's height and width. Also its hard finding heaters smaller than 8 inches could I place it on a planet and any ideas on filters.Share your ideas and opinions they will be much appreciated p.s this is my first aquascaping project

Offline graygang

• Fishy Member
Re: 5gallon long ???? heaters filters and aquascaping
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2013, 10:36:49 PM »
**also its hard finding heaters smaller than 8 inches could I place it on a **slant**

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2013, 12:48:51 PM »
You can put heaters at a slant; lots of people recommend it. The reason is that the hot water rises up, fools the thermostat into thinking the whole tank is that warm and the heater shuts off. I can't quite see that myself as the water flow from the filter should sweep the newly heated water away before it has chance to rise.