Author Topic: I was a closet scientist  (Read 2316 times) 4 replies

Offline Dominique

• Fishy Contributor
  • Tropical Fish Forum User
I was a closet scientist
« on: November 12, 2019, 10:16:42 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 2
Hello,
My post is about how happy I am that I began keeping fish in 2017, and how I have grown even happier from it since then. I belong to an aquarium club and have fun tending my 13 fish and their plants in my 30gallon tank (113L).  I keep white cloud mountain minnows, gold cloud minnows, and 2 oto cats.

WEIRD HOBBY- NOT!
The other day I heard on the radio an author/psychologist Neil Pasricha talking about weird hobbies. And, Pasricha's words specifically were "weird hobby" which caught my attention. He was describing a book about brain health and resilience, and how online culture has really worn people down.  He said that the way to be healthy and resilient against online fatigue is to take up something new, and keep options open; with a "weird hobby" it is good that the learning curve is steep for the brain.  He did not mention fish, but the idea clicked for me.  I do NOT find fishkeeping weird... but I think my family might! That radio broadcast resonated with me becuase that describes what I did, when I tried something very different, about 3 years ago in 2017. 

CLOSET SCIENTIST
Getting a fish tank was definitely a combo-breaker because the family had always seen me as a college librarian, online all day, every day. Ha! No one knew that I actually have a closet scientist waiting to burst out. My children are out of the house, I needed a hobby...  It was not a dog or a cat, it was a fish tank, and it has been a success!  My family thought it was unprecedented that I, in the humanities profession, would keep fish. (There is a precedent however, as a child, I admired freshwater fish every summer while swimming in ponds AND kept a fish tank for a while).

CLUBBING