Swordtails

Author Topic: Swordtails  (Read 14912 times) 3 replies

Offline andy.basingstoke

Swordtails
« on: November 06, 2012, 06:57:28 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi im looking for some help.
im new to fish keeping and im having so issues with male swordtails. i have had one that lasted a week then died so went and brought another one from the same shop that also lasted a week before dying. i know my water is fine as i have other fish that are fine and the 2 female swordtails i have are fine its just the males that die. like i said i brought them from the same shop a week apart so thinking it might be somthing to do with that, but not 100% sure. they are a great looking fish but not really happy to buy another incase it does the same. 
Any advice?

:-\

Offline Sue

• Global Moderator Subscriber
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
Re: Swordtails
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2012, 07:25:57 PM »
Hi Andy,

I've seen your post in the Introduce Yourself thread, and notice that you say you are new to fishkeeping. Just so we don't miss anything, I'm going to ask you some questions, and if you could answer them it will help.

How big is the tank?
How long has it been set up?
How did you set it up - let it run a few days then get fish, or do a fishless cycle using ammonia/fishfood?
Do you know the readings for ammonia and nitrite in your tank?
Did the fish show any signs of being sick before they die eg spots, ragged fins etc?
Have you only had one male swordtail at a time?
What kind and how many other fish do you have besides the female swordtails?

I do have reasons for asking  :)

Swordtails grow quite big and need a fairly large tank, and male swordtails can be pretty nasty towards each other, so unless the tank is huge, only one male should be kept.