Author Topic: Spawning - advice needed  (Read 4068 times) 9 replies

Offline Cod_only_knows

• Rocking Fishy Member
  • Just for the halibut!
Spawning - advice needed
« on: September 22, 2015, 09:27:37 PM »
  • Likes On This Users Post 0
Hi all,
Was just looking in my tank and noticed some eggs stuck to my Hygrophila Polysperma. They definitely aren't snail eggs as I can identify them. The shrimps don't lay eggs and my Stiphodon is male. That leaves my Pristella and Pseudomugil as the only parents. I'm pretty certain its the Pseudomugil, but I guess the only way to find out is to hatch the eggs.

This is where I need help. I have never done this before, don't have a hatchery and my QT isn't set up. Is there anything I can do or is almost certain the little chaps will be hoovered up by morning?

A Selection of Fish in my Fish Community Creator Tanks
Checkered Barb (3) - Endler's Livebearer (5) - Galaxy Rasbora (7) -
Note: The user may not necessarily own these fish, these are tanks that they may be building or researching for stocking purposes

Offline Anne

• Super Fishy Member
  • Tropical Fish FTW!
Re: Spawning - advice needed
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2015, 10:44:21 PM »
Hi cod

I am no expert but could you set up you QT.  If you don't keep QT filter in your main tank could you add some of the filter medium from your main tank to give it a quick start - I can't see the eggs/fry producing that much ammonia to start with. 

Also I think in a previous post Sue discussed what would be needed, it was a thread started by extreme one.

Sorry I can't be more helpful.

Anne

Offline Extreme_One

• Super Hero Member
  • Superstar Think Fishy Member
  • Call me Simon
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2015, 11:33:44 PM »
Sue and I had a similar conversation here and here

In a community tank I think you'll be very lucky to have a successful brood, and can't really do much to influence the outcome.

But, you never know, stranger things have happened.